Go to Product Detail Page

Bastien und Bastienne

By Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Look Bastien und Bastienne
Detailed Description

Bastien und Bastienne composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791). Edited by Ulrich Leisinger. For STB voice soli, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 horns, 2 violins, viola, cello/double bass, [harpsichord]. This edition: Paperbound. Stuttgart Urtext Edition. Score available separately - see item CA.5105000. Operas, "Singspiele". Vocal score. Language: German. Composed 1768. KV 50. 64 pages. Duration 37 minutes. Published by Carus Verlag (CA.5105003).

ISBN M-007-09226-9. With Language: German. Operas, "Singspiele".

The story of Bastien und Bastienne is based on the musical pastoral Le Devin du Village by Jean-Jacques Rousseau. The play was hugely popular in paraphrase and translation and entered the repertoires of travelling companies and children's theaters. A shepherd succumbs to the enticements of the lady of the castle and tries to abandon his beloved. The village soothsayer appeals to his conscience and advises the abandoned Bastienne to feign coyness until Bastien shamefacedly returns to her. Mozart's version, composed in Vienna in the summer of 1768, is based on a text by Friedrich Wilhelm Weiskern that had been in existence since 1764. On his return to Salzburg, he undertook an ultimately unfinished revision of the work, improving the textual underlay and replacing the spoken dialogue with recitative. He also changed the vocal register of Colas and probably that of Bastien as well. The Carus edition is the first to treat these two versions separately.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List