Go to Product Detail Page

Creation Mass in A-major after Joseph Haydn

By Franz Joseph Haydn

Look Creation Mass in A-major after Joseph Haydn
Detailed Description

SATB vocal soli, SATB choir, 2 flutes, 2 horns, 2 trumpets, timpani, 2 violins, 2 viola, basso continuo
Schopfungsmesse. Composed by Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809). Edited by Armin Kircher. Arranged by Luigi Gatti. This edition: Paperbound. A-Dur (A major). Sacred music from Salzburg. Score available separately - see item CA.2705300. Latin Masses. Vocal score. Language: Latin. 60 pages. Duration 35 minutes. Published by Carus Verlag (CA.2705303).

Item Number: CA.2705303
ISBN M-007-09204-7. With Language: Latin. Latin Masses.

Since the days of Renaissance composers - beyond accusations of plagiarism - the admiration for a fellow composer has taken the form of quotations from his works or even new versions of his works. No less a work from the classical period than Joseph Haydn's oratorio The Creation (first performed in 1798), was the basis for the Schopfungsmesse (Creation Mass) by the Salzburg Court and Cathedral Music Director, Luigi Gatti. Gatti heard the oratorio in Salzburg performances conducted by Johann Michael Haydn in 1800. With great skill and sensitivity Gatti was able to underlay the choruses and arias of The Creation with the text of the Mass (at times he reduced and adapted the instrumentation), without doing harm to the admired original.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List