Go to Product Detail Page

Requiem in B

By Michael Haydn

Look Requiem in B
Detailed Description

Requiem in B composed by Michael Haydn (1737-1806). Edited by Armin Kircher. For SATB vocal soli, SATB choir, 2 oboes, 2 bassoons, 2 horns, 2 clarinos/trumpets, timpani, 3 trombones, 2 violins, viola, basso continuo. This edition: Paperbound. B-Dur (B-flat major). Score available separately - see item CA.5483800. Requiem, Mourning, death. Vocal score. Language: Latin. MH 838. 96 pages. Duration 55 minutes. Published by Carus Verlag (CA.5483803).

ISBN M-007-08726-5. With Language: Latin. Requiem, Mourning, death.

The Requiem in B flat major is Johann Michael Haydn's second setting of the liturgical text of the Mass of the dead (another Requiem, MH 599, has since been identified as the work of Father Georg Pasterwiz) and it is also his last work, his "Opus ultimum." On commission from Empress Maria Theresia he began the composition in 1805, but due to a serious illness he made only slow progress with the work. Like W. A. Mozart, he could not complete this Requiem. In 1839 Father Gunther Kronecker, Benedictine Father in the monastery of Kremsmunster in Upper Austria, completed the torso "in the spirit and style" of Haydn. During his student days in Vienna Father Gunther belonged to the circle of friends who were associated with Franz Schubert.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List