Go to Product Detail Page

German Requiem

By Johannes Brahms

Look German Requiem
Detailed Description

German Requiem (nach Worten der Heiligen Schrift). Composed by Johannes Brahms (1833-1897). For SB vocal soli, SATB choir, piccolo, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 4 horns, 2 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba, 3 timpani, harp, 2 violin, viola, cello, contrabass, [organ]. This edition: Paperbound. German title: Ein deutsches Requiem. Requiem, End of the church year, Mourning, death. Vocal score. Language: German. Op. 45. 96 pages. Duration 70 minutes. Published by Carus Verlag (CA.2705503).

ISBN M-007-04169-4. With Language: German. Requiem, End of the church year, Mourning, death.

Since its first complete performance in 1868 in the Cathedral of Bremen, Brahms's Ein deutsches Requiem is, without question, one of the key works in the history of the oratorio. The reputation of the work is based not only on its unusually concentrated musical structure, but also on the original conception of the text: Brahms assembled important passages from both the Old and New Testaments in Luther's translation so that thoughts on sorrow and consolation would obviously refer to one another. In contrast to many other oratorios of the 19th century Brahms places the choir, the voice of the community, in the center of this interdenominational celebration of the dead.

Score available separately - see item CA.2705500.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List