Go to Product Detail Page

Peter Maxwell Davies: Strathclyde Concerto No. 4 (Miniature Score)

Look Peter Maxwell Davies: Strathclyde Concerto No. 4 (Miniature Score)
Detailed Description

Peter Maxwell Davies: Strathclyde Concerto No. 4 (Miniature Score) music Sales America. 20th Century. 86 pages. Chester Music #CH60875. Published by Chester Music (HL.14020991).

ISBN 0711933537. 20th Century. 5.5x7.5 inches.

Davies's feeling for the potency and bravura of the clarinet goes back to works of the 1960s; his concerto for the instrument is predictably a big, ranging piece, in two linked movements. The first, fast with a brief slow introduction, has the soloist in propulsive melodic flights slipping over into florid runs, but it is a virtuoso piece for the orchestra, especially for the marimba and pair of horns. The Adagio that follows is in the spare, cold, birdcall-riven style of other recent Davies slow movements, exploiting first the clarinet's low register and then, at its climax, the instrument's high extremes. A cadenza leads to the coda, where Davies introduces a Scots tune, previously hinted at, with which he brings the work to an end in F sharp major. Miniature score.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List