Go to Product Detail Page

Classical Symphony, Op. 25

By Sergei Prokofiev

Look Classical Symphony, Op. 25
Detailed Description

Classical Symphony, Op. 25 composed by Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953). Orchestra. For orchestra. Full Orchestra (Full Score); Masterworks; Score. Dover Edition. 20th Century and Russian. Full score. Introductory text. 68 pages. Published by Dover Publications (AP.6-449505).

ISBN 0486449505. With introductory text. 20th Century and Russian. 9x12 inches.

Prokofiev's first symphony, which he mischievously dubbed "Classical," is a sprightly piece based on the symphonic models of Haydn. "I thought that if Haydn were alive today he would compose just as he did before, but at the same time would include something new in his manner of composition," Prokofiev remarked. "I wanted to compose such a symphony: a symphony in the classical style"The composer's synthesis of 20th century harmonies and timbres with eighteenth-century structure and form has captivated audiences since its premiere in 1918. This is Prokofiev's most frequently performed symphonic work, and this edition is meticulously reproduced from an authoritative early source.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List