Go to Product Detail Page

Ground After the Scotch Humour - Score and parts

By Matteis

Look Ground After the Scotch Humour - Score and parts
Detailed Description

Ground After the Scotch Humour - Score and parts composed by Matteis. For soprano recorder and Basso Continuo. Score and Parts. Published by Dolce (MM.DOL0602A).

These grounds and divisions come from Nicola Matteis Ayrs for the Violin: Preludes Allmands Sarabands Courantes Gigues Divisions and double Compositions fitted to all hands and Capacities, published in four volumes in London in the mid 1680s. Nicola Matteis was a famous violin player from Naples, who arrived in London in the early 1670s, after working in Germany for a few years. From surviving descriptions it is clear that he was a powerful and charismatic performer: however his directness and lack of obsequiousness denied him the aristocratic patronage that might have given him a secure living. He seems, unusually for the time, to have surivived by giving public performances. The diarist John Evelyn, who heard him in November 1674, wrote that he had "a strock so sweete and made it speke like the voice of a man, and when he pleased, like a consort of several instruments: he did wonders upon a Note; was an excellent composer also.".

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List