Go to Product Detail Page

4 Pieces From Capricci In Musica (1564) - Score

By Ruffo

Look 4 Pieces From Capricci In Musica (1564) - Score
Detailed Description

4 Pieces From Capricci In Musica (1564) - Score composed by Ruffo. For ATB Recorders; or Treble Viol, Tenor Viol and Bass Viol. Recorder Trios, String Trios. Italian Instrumental Music of the Renaissance. Score. Published by London Pro Musica (MM.LPMIM01).

Vicenzo Ruffo (ca. 1510-1587) is an interesting and unjustly neglected figure. He was a prolific composer, producing a large number of motets and masses. However, it was as a composer of madrigals that he was most successful. Strong rhythmic interest is perhaps the most outstanding feature of his music; harmonically he was less daring than his more famous contemporary Cipriano da Rore (1515-1565). He spent most of his working life in Verona and in Milan, where he was director of music at the cathedral from 1565 to 1572. The collection from which the present pieces are taken, the Capricu in Musica a tre voci (Milan, 1564), is Ruffos only publication of instrumental music. It is an unusual collection in its mixture of popular and academic elements. CONTENTS: La Disperata La Danza La Piva La Gamba in basso e soprano.

About Italian Instrumental Music of the Renaissance

These pieces are primarily for 2 or 3 instruments. Playable on recorders, viols - and some on crumhorns. Primarily available with just score - although later editions include parts.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List