Go to Product Detail Page

3 Motets (Da Pacem and more) - 3 Scores

By Martin Agricola

Look 3 Motets (Da Pacem and more) - 3 Scores
Detailed Description

3 Motets (Da Pacem and more) - 3 Scores composed by Martin Agricola. For ATB instruments; or ATB recorders. Miscellaneous Music, Recorder Trios. Early Music Library. Sacred. 3 Scores. Published by London Pro Musica (MM.EML0311).

These three-part motets by Alexander Agricola (c. 1445-1506), based on plainsong cantifermi, are written in a distinctive, rhythmically elaborate style often found in three-part music of Agricola's time, whether sacred or profane. Si dedero was one of the most widely-known pieces of its kind, surviving in over twenty different polyphonic sources (mostly without text underlay), together with several lute and keyboard arrangements. The antiphon Da pacem was used by many composers as a basis for more or less elaborate settings: the smooth contours of the opening allowed the easy use of many of the standard rhythmic and melodic figures of the day: canonic settings are also quite common (for instance, two double canons in Andrea Antico's 1520 collection of such pieces). CONTENTS: Si dedero O quam glorifica luce Da pacem.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List