Go to Product Detail Page


By Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach

Look Magnificat
Detailed Description

Magnificat composed by Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach (1714-1788). For Soli SATB, SATB Choir, 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, Bassoon, 2 Horns, 2 Violins, Viola, Basso continuo [3 Trumpets, Timpani]. This edition: Paperbound. Score available separately - see item CA.3321500. Magnificats, Christmas. Level 3. Vocal score. Language: Latin. Composed 1749. Wq 215. 80 pages. Duration 42 minutes. Published by Carus Verlag (CA.3321503).

ISBN M-007-05165-5. With Language: Latin. Magnificats, Christmas.

C. P. E. Bach's nine-movement Magnificat (1749), the first great vocal work from his Berlin years, is among the most magnificent sounding, in which the solo vocal parts are also among the most ambitious settings of the "Hymn to the Virgin Mary" (Luke 1). The work fulfills all the criteria required for a larger sacred composition: grandeur, dignity, polyphonic and concertante choral movements, sensitive ("empfindsam") and expressive arias, a long concluding double fugue. This richly scored Magnificat (with 3 trumpets and timp. ad. lib.), which is almost one hour in duration, would be well suited, for example, as the central work on every Christmas or pre-Christmas concert programme.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List