Go to Product Detail Page

Pictures at an Exhibition

By Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky

Look Pictures at an Exhibition
Detailed Description

Pictures at an Exhibition (Ten Pieces for Piano Solo). Composed by Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky (1839-1881). Arranged by Alfred Kreutz. For Piano (Piano). Schott. Softcover. 46 pages. Schott Music #ED525. Published by Schott Music (HL.49005554).

ISBN 3795756219. 9x12 inches.

In 1874, Mussorgsky wrote his famous piano cycle inspired by an exhibition of pictures by his friend Viktor Hartmann. The resources of musical realism are used to describe the ten pictures in great detail; the interposed Promenades then reflect the subjective impressions and feelings of the visitor looking at the pictures. This edition is based on Mussorgsky's original score, with the addition of a few markings apparently overlooked by the composer, inserted in brackets. Fingerings have been added, together with the original comments on individual pieces from the first edition. These comments by the art critic Vladimir Stassov, the organizer of the exhibition, outline the programmatic nature of the musical composition.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List