Go to Product Detail Page

Stabat mater for Soprano, Alto, Strings and Basso continuo

By Giovanni Battista Pergolesi

Look Stabat mater for Soprano, Alto, Strings and Basso continuo
Detailed Description

Stabat mater for Soprano, Alto, Strings and Basso continuo (for Soprano, Alto, Strings and Basso Continuo). Composed by Giovanni Battista Pergolesi (1710-1736). Edited by Malcolm Bruno; Caroline Ritchie. Arranged by Malcolm Bruno. For soprano voice, alto voice, violin (2), viola, basso continuo (cello, double bass, organ). This edition: Stapled, Urtext edition. Stapled. Piano reduction. Language: Latin. 42 pages. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA7679-90).

ISBN 9790006528905. With Language: Latin. 27 x 19 cm inches.

The Stabat mater, composed shortly before Pergolesi's untimely death at the early age of 26, quickly attracted attention. The work's importance was soon so great that none other than Johann Sebastian Bach performed a German version of the work based on the 51st Psalm. Numerous copies, prints and arrangements attest to the work's vast popularity, a popularity that still exists today.

For the present edition, the autograph was for the first time compared to a very early Neapolitan score that is presumably based on the parts from the work's premiere. The findings have influenced the musical text; details are described in the critical commentary.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List