Go to Product Detail Page

Ludus Tonalis (1942)

By Paul Hindemith

Look Ludus Tonalis (1942)
Detailed Description

Ludus Tonalis (1942) (Studies in Counterpoint, Tonal Organization and Piano Playing). Composed by Paul Hindemith (1895-1963). For Piano. Schott. 60 pages. Schott Music #ED3964. Published by Schott Music (HL.49004546).

ISBN 3795795621. 9x12 inches.

The cycle of fugues is introduced and concluded by a Praeludium and Postludium, the second formed by turning the Praeludium upside down and reading it backwards. In solving technical problems he posed himself, Hindemith created a work of considerable imagination. Intellectual achievement and sheer delight in playing are shown not to be mutually exclusive. The Ludus is a graphic example of the composer's delight in the fantastic. He illustrated the work with colored pencil, drawing a lion for each entry of the subject of the fugues. And for each of the twelve, a different kind of lion according to the character of the music, providing an instructive formal analysis of the music.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List