Go to Product Detail Page

En Douleur Et Tristesse - Score and parts

By Adrian Willaert

Look En Douleur Et Tristesse - Score and parts
Detailed Description

6 voices/instruments; or SATTTB recorders
Composed by Adrian Willaert (1490-1562). Miscellaneous Music, Recorder Sextets etc.. Choral or Vocal Music. Score and Parts. Published by London Pro Musica (MM.LPM0559).

Item Number: MM.LPM0559

This chanson is printed after Le Roy and Ballard's famous Mellange de chansons des vieux autheurs que des modernes a cinq. six. sept. et huict parties, published in Paris in 1572, a strangely retrospective collection that contains music by Josquin des Pres (d.1521), as well as many pieces by Willaert, who died in 1562, though it does include some more up-to-date pieces, notably those of Claude de Jeune. In this setting the melody appears in all the parts, shared fairly evenly. The two parts that have the least additional material are the tenor and sexta pars, but neither is a cantus firmus. The composer exploits the harmonic ambiguity created by the imitation of the melody at the fourth. Like certain chansons by Josquin des Pres, this piece has an ending which is designed to avoid a major third in the final chord. - BT.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List