Go to Product Detail Page

String Quartets - Volume XI Op. 77 and Op. 103

By Franz Joseph Haydn

Look String Quartets - Volume XI Op. 77 and Op. 103
Detailed Description

String Quartets - Volume XI Op. 77 and Op. 103 (Study Score). Composed by Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809). Edited by Horst Walter. For String Quartet. STUDY EDITION. Henle Study Scores. Pages: VIII and 55. Softcover. 64 pages. G. Henle #HN9215. Published by G. Henle (HL.51489215).

These are the last of the nearly seventy quartets in Haydn's oeuvre. Originally he intended to write a set of six quartets, as so often in the past, but at the time they were written, in 1803, Haydn's health was so poor that he could not fully satisfy the commission from Prince Lobkowitz. Instead he published only two complete quartets as op. 77. Later he allowed an incomplete work consisting of two middle movements to appear as op. 103, adding to the print the portentous words: “Gone is all my strength, old and weak am I.” Musically, however, these quartets are anything but weak: they represent the aged composer virtually at the zenith of his powers. Haydn even went so far as to call op. 77, no. 2, his “most beautiful string quartet.”.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List