Go to Product Detail Page

Concerto No. 1 in G minor, Opus 49

By Dmitri Kabalevsky

Look Concerto No. 1 in G minor, Opus 49
Detailed Description

Cello and piano accompaniment - Difficulty: difficult
Composed by Dmitri Kabalevsky (1904-1987). 20th Century. Instrumental solo book. Introductory text. Composed 1948. 39 pages. Published by International Music Company (IM.3113).

Item Number: IM.3113

With introductory text. 20th Century. 9x12 inches.

The Concerto for Violincello and Orchestra, Op. 49, composed in 1948 is the second in a cycle of three concertos dedicated to Soviet Youth. The traditional movement form is consistently followed within each concerto as well as serving as an overall structure for the cycle. Thus the first concerto for violin is the equivalent of the opening fast movement. The one for violincello is essentially lyrical throughout corresponding with the usual slow movement, while the third concerto for piano provides the brilliant finale to the cycle. Although not based directly on folk tunes, the Concerto for Violincello has a flavor of Russian and Near Eastern folk music found in many of Kabalevsky's compositions.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List