Go to Product Detail Page

Viola Concerto

By William Walton

Detailed Description

Viola Concerto composed by William Walton (1902-1983). Edited by Christopher Wellington. For viola (1929 version: piccolo, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, english horn, 2 clarinets, bass clarinet, 2 bassoons, contrabassoon, 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 3, trombone, tuba, timpani, harp, strings 1962 version: 2 flutes (flute and piccolo), oboe, english horn, 2 clarinets (II+). This edition: 1929 and 1962 versions. William Walton Edition. Level D (difficult). Full score. 320 pages. Duration 23'. Published by Oxford University Press (OU.9780193681309).

ISBN 9780193681309. 12 x 9 inches.

This volume prints both of Walton's orchestrations: his initial scoring (1929) and his reduced orchestrations of 1962. It also for the first time restores the solo part as edited by Frederick Riddle, an early soloist and champion of the work, who devised numerous idiomatic phrasings and bowings with the approval of the composer. The volume is completed by critical notes, facsimiles, and an introduction. Full performing material for both orchestrations is available from the Hire Library from the publisher.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List