Go to Product Detail Page

Fantasia sopra motivi dell'opera "La Sonnambula"

By Domenico Mirco

Look Fantasia sopra motivi dell'opera
Detailed Description

Fantasia sopra motivi dell'opera "La Sonnambula" composed by Domenico Mirco. Arranged by Diane Barger. For Clarinet and Piano. Chamber music. Published by Potenza Music (P2.30055).

Using themes from the finales to both acts of Vincenzo Bellini's 1831 opera, "La Sonnambula," Domenico Mirco creates a magnificent multi-thematic fantasy for clarinet and piano. The work begins with Amina's sleepwalking aria "Ah! non credea mirarti" from Act II, Scene 9, which allows the clarinetist to showcase the vocal qualities of the instrument ... The final variation features some of the most brilliant clarinet passagework of the fantasy while the theme is clearly stated by the piano. Immediately following this variation, the piano presents the closing Bellini melody from the finale of Act I, "D'un pensiero e d'un accento." Bellini's melody is clearly stated in the piano while the clarinet plays arpeggiated figures of ornamentation leading to the final Piu mosso coda. This coda features original material by Mirco and concludes the fantasy with additional opportunities for the clarinetist to display technical prowess. Mirco dedicated this piece to his student Giovanni Zenon.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List