Go to Product Detail Page

Dowland Collection

By John Dowland

Detailed Description

Dowland Collection composed by John Dowland (1563-1626). Arranged by Bruce R. Smith. For flute choir (piccolo, 3 flutes, alto flute, bass flute, optional contrabass flute). Grade 4. Duration 8 minutes, 20 seconds. Published by BRS Music (BY.FC-336).

Dowland Collection is an assembly of four pieces for flute choir. The four pieces offer its players and audience an unusual experience in the music of the early 1600's. Selections include The King of Demark's Galliard, Lachrimae Antiquae, Mr. John Langton's Pavan, and The Earle of Essex Galliard.
These pieces represent a high development of polyphony, music written as a combination of several parts of a more or less pronounced individuality. The five basic parts of each movement are of equal importance as each has a melodic component within the the total sound. The high complexity of the internal rhythmic parts makes performing the piece very challenging.
Technical requirements for this piece call for good strong rhythmic skill from all players. For contest, repeats or movements can be omitted for a shorter performance.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List