Go to Product Detail Page


By Gary Laughrey

Look Selah
Detailed Description

Selah composed by Gary Laughrey. For String Orchestra. Level 3. Score and parts. Duration 2 minutes. Published by Imagine Music (IG.OMS121A).

Selah is from a larger work entitled Musical Moments for Orchestra. The complete work is 'book ended' by No. 1 (Etude, Brute?), and No. 7 (Cacophony of Copycats). In between are No. 2, Fanfare, Canon and Conversation, for Woodwind quintet; No. 3, Selah for Strings; No. 4, Precociously Persistent Play for Percussion; No. 5, Through a Little Brass, Briefly for Brass Quintet; and No. 6, Serendipitous Seriosity for Saxophone Quartet. These could be played together as one concert work, or, as here, individual works. They are intended to be meaningful, fun, diverse, and relatively brief "Musical Moments.” Selah is a programmatic work. It attempts to convey the emotions of the Psalmist. It begins with a slow, somber melody in D minor ("How long, O Lord, will you forget me forever?") which is repeated with more intensity ("Consider and hear me"). This is followed by a melody in the parallel major at a slightly faster tempo ("But I have trusted"). This leads to a declamatory final phrase reflecting the hope the Psalmist has that the answer and goodness will come to him.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List