Go to Product Detail Page

String Quintets, Op. 18 and 87

By Felix Bartholdy Mendelssohn

Look String Quintets, Op. 18 and 87
Detailed Description

String Quintets, Op. 18 and 87 composed by Felix Bartholdy Mendelssohn (1809-1847). For String Quintet (Study Score). Henle Study Scores. Softcover. 150 pages. G. Henle #HN9908. Published by G. Henle (HL.51489908).

The genesis of Mendelssohn's string quintets is closely connected to his friend Eduard Rietz and the latter's brother Julius. Deeply affected by Eduard's death in 1832, Mendelssohn exchanged the “Minuetto” movement in his A major Quintet op. 18, written six years previously, for a newly composed adagio. It was in this form that the work was finally sent to the publisher. The Quintet in B flat major was only published after Mendelssohn's death; numerous, unauthorized entries by Julius Rietz thus found their way into performance practice.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List