Go to Product Detail Page

Scenes from Childhood, Op. 15

By Robert Schumann

Look Scenes from Childhood, Op. 15
Detailed Description

Scenes from Childhood, Op. 15 (Scenes from Childhood). Composed by Robert Schumann. Edited by Holger M. Stuwe. For piano. This edition: Stapled, Urtext edition. Stapled. Fingering and Notes on Performance Practice by Ragna Schirmer. Performance score, Anthology. Language: German/English. Opus 15. 20 pages. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA9639).

ISBN 9790006539628. With Language: German/English. 31 x 24.3 cm inches.

In spring 1838 Schumann composed "30 short, sweet things", as he called them in a letter to his fiancee Clara Wieck. He originally composed these under the title "Kindergeschichten" and intended them as a supplement to the "Noveletten" op. 21, also composed in 1838. From these piano miniatures he chose twelve pieces. At the beginning of the following year, now expanded with a thirteenth piece, they were published as "Scenes from Childhood" by Breitkopf & Hartel in Leipzig. The collection centred on Traumerei which is the seventh and the most famous piece in the collection.
The significance of the cycle was completely misjudged by the critic Ludwig Rellstab but it was enthusiastically received by Liszt. He wrote to Schumann in June 1839 that he was frequently playing "Scenes from Childhood" to his then three-and-a-half year old daughter Blandine with enthusiasm, but particularly to himself.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List