Go to Product Detail Page


By Maurice Ravel

Look Bolero
Detailed Description

Bolero composed by Maurice Ravel (1875-1937). Arranged by Marco Tamanini. For Concert Band. Grade 5. Full score and set of parts. Duration 14:00. Published by Baton Music (BF.BM432-SET).

Maurice Ravel is perhaps known best for his orchestral work 'Bolero' (1928), which he considered trivial and once described as "a piece for orchestra without music". Bolero is a one-movement orchestral piece originally composed as a ballet commissioned by Russian ballerina Ida Rubinstein. For 'Bolero' he used the opportunity to conduct an experiment. As he put it, the score would be "uniform throughout in its melody, harmony and rhythm, the latter being tapped out continuously on the drum. The only element of variety is supplied by the orchestral crescendo." Instrumental coloring plays a major role, as well, an area in which Ravel had attained supreme mastery. After its premiere as a ballet, 'Bolero' quickly won even greater success in the concert hall.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List