Go to Product Detail Page

String Quartets Volume V, Op. 33 (Russian Quartets)

By Franz Joseph Haydn

Look String Quartets Volume V, Op. 33 (Russian Quartets)
Detailed Description

String Quartets Volume V, Op. 33 (Russian Quartets) composed by Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809). Edited by Georg Feder and Sonja Gerlach. For String Quartet (Study Score). Henle Study Scores. Study Score (Softcover). 100 pages. G. Henle #HN9209. Published by G. Henle (HL.51489209).

Haydn allowed about ten years to pass before composing a new cycle of string quartets after opus 20: the so-called "Russian Quartets." This is the first series of quartets that we know he wrote with publication in mind. "They are in a completely new and special manner," he wrote in several letters, and he was certainly not just referring to the fact that "Scherzi" replaced the minuets for the first time. Music lovers particularly appreciate the melodic ideas; thus the rich ornamentation of the main motif of op. 33,3, gave the quartet its nickname "Bird Quartet.".

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List