Go to Product Detail Page


By Robert Simpson

Look Vortex
Detailed Description

Vortex composed by Robert Simpson (1921-1997). For Brass Band. One of the composer's shorter essays for band. Serious Concert. Advanced. Full Score. Standard Notation. Duration 9:00. Published by Winwood Music (WO.0101SC).

With Standard Notation. Serious Concert.

Vortex - a mass of swirling fluid; the centre of the vortex is static whereas the swirling mass becomes faster as it is sucked inexorably towards the centre. This is reflected in the structure of Robert Simpson's final work for brass band. It is cast in a single fast tempo movement made up of three sections. Each section begins softly but actively and grows in volume and intensity to a great discharge of energy on a unison note. Each section is longer than then the last and each unison discharge is a semitone lower than the last. The effect is cumulative and the closing pages witness an explosion of energy from the full band gradually rbeing drawn into the unison final note. Vortex was commissioned by the IMI Yorkshire Imperial Band and first performed at the Leeds Music Festival on 6 July 1990.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List