Go to Product Detail Page

Boy, Oh Boy

By Josh Gottry

Detailed Description

Boy, Oh Boy composed by Josh Gottry. Percussion Ensemble. For Percussion Ensemble (vibraphone (3-octave), xylophone, marimba 1 (4-octave), marimba 2 (4.3-octave), timpani, 3 woodblocks, snare drum, bongos, congas). Percussion Music. Medium. Score and parts. Duration 4:30. Published by C. Alan Publications (CN.13080).

Using a lullaby setting of a Swedish folk melody, this work adds plenty of percussion to represent a day in the life of a toddler. A fun, yet sentimental piece.

Written for my one-year-old son Caleb, this piece opens with a simple lullaby setting of a Swedish folk melody from the hymn Children of the Heavenly Father. At the presto, a day begins with the woodblock part signifying the continual progression of time. The texture gradually thickens as toys are strewn around the house. The chord progression beginning five bars after letter A, spells out Caleb's name (Cmin, Abmin, Fmin7 substitute for 'L' Eb, Bb). The progression is then restated with a slightly busier ostinato. The hymn melody returns over new ideas in the mallet instruments, while the snare, woodblocks, and hand drums continue the 5/4 patterns into the 4/4 time signature. A final statement of the chord progression is made at letter F followed by the gradual thinning of the texture as the day winds down. A short lullaby recap closes the piece and the woodblock begins again to serve as a reminder that the next day is coming soon. - Josh Gottry.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List