Go to Product Detail Page


By Peteris Vasks

Look Toccata
Detailed Description

Toccata composed by Peteris Vasks (1946-). For 2 pianos. This edition: ED 9578; Saddle-stitch. Piano Music. Grade 4. Composed 1977. 23 pages. Duration 5 minutes. Published by Schott Music (SD.49033177).

ISBN 9790001134385.

The two pianos introduce the bass motif one after another. Every new entry brings an increase in tempo. Only when they play together, though, is the real 'Vivace unleashed. From then on, it is only in the 'largamente' sections and a lyrical middle section (cantabile) that the racing bass figure pauses for a while. The motif weaves its way through the course of the 'Toccata' like a 'perpetuum mobile', bringing ever more complex layering to the structure of the movement. The Latvian composer Peteris Vasks has described himself as a 'musician from the periphery' on account of his geographical and cultural background. His music full of emotional rigour continues to bring him towards the centre of contemporary composition, as is evident in his instrumental chamber works.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List