Go to Product Detail Page

The Organ Symphonies of Charles-Marie Widor, Volume 1

By Charles Marie Widor

Look The Organ Symphonies of Charles-Marie Widor, Volume 1
Detailed Description

The Organ Symphonies of Charles-Marie Widor, Volume 1 composed by Charles Marie Widor (1844-1937). For Organ. Masterworks; Organ - Method or Collection. Belwin Edition (H.W. Gray). Masterwork; Romantic. Book. 184 pages. Published by Belwin Music (AP.GB00659).

ISBN 0757994644. Masterwork; Romantic.

Charles-Marie Jean Albert Widor (February 21, 1844 -- March 12, 1937) was a French organist, composer and teacher, and was at the forefront of a revival in French organ music in the late 1800's. The organ symphonies are his most significant contribution to the organ repertoire, and came about partly due to the emergence of the symphonic style of organ building typified by the instruments of Cavaille-Coll, with their orchestral voicing and warmer sound. Widor's symphonies can be divided into three groups. The first four symphonies comprise Op. 13 (1872) and are more properly termed "suites" (Widor himself called them "collections".) This book contains the first five of the Organ Symphonies. Included in this book is the famous Toccata from the Symphony No. 5. This beautiful volume is an essential part of the organist's library of romantic organ literature.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List